Copycat

I love Tony Bianco, I really, really do. But sometimes I have to wonder: if a couple of there styles bare ridiculous resemblance to other brands, how original are some designer’s designs? (That’s not a rhetorical question either, I’d really like to know). In the past I’ve noticed a striking resemblance between certain Pedro Garcia flat styles and Tony Bianco’s stuff. Today, while scrolling through the Tony Bianco website a pair of shoes caught my eye. A pair I was certain I had seen before. Turns out I had, sort of. A few weeks ago you may remember my post about ankle booties. I featured a pair of lovely H by Hudson suede wrap strap booties from Shopbop. Well it turns out Tony Bianco has their own version, the Gibralter in fudge-diesel chic-wax.

Image

Tony Bianco Gibralter Fudge-Diesel Choc-Wax bootie

Now I’m not going to point fingers and blame anyone of pinching other people’s designs. It just so happens I keep a close eye on Tony Bianco’s collections (because I’m chronic a Tony Bianco-aholic) and notice when I see stuff that’s similar. I just have to wonder if some brands simply pick pre-designed designs and just change the colour, or the quality or type of material. I have featured something similar to this when I first started blogging, a pair of shorts both Witchery and Barkin had that was essentially exactly the same. In the past I’ve also experienced cross-overs between Sportsgirl, Jeans West and Valleygirl clothes – more specifically, the exactly same shift dress for three different prices and made from three different types and quality material. 

Now I’m not necessarily complaining – I know Tony Bianco fits, whereas I’m not so sure about my Pedro Garcia or H by Hudson sizing – but I am a little intrigued to know the reasons behind these cross-overs. Obviously in fashion we see trends develop each season and inevitably multiple brands all follow that trend; but I would hope that each brand has their own unique take on something instead of reproducing something else. I guess this only goes to a certain point; the point being where others want to wear a major runway trend but can’t afford or don’t want to fork out the money for it. 

I hate to sit on the fence on the issue but I wouldn’t want to think the worst of some of the brands we grow to love. If you have an opinion on the matter please comment below and tell us what you think! Should brands copy certain styles to offer a cheaper alternative, or should they be true to the word designer by being original?

One thought on “Copycat

  1. I see it all the time! Last time I was in Sydney I bought a pretty dress from a local boutique and when I goot home essentially the same dress in different colours from Ice and other chain stores. Frustrating!

Leave a Reply

