21st birthday outfit

I can’t remember if I ever posted a picture of the outfit I wore to my 21st after all the effort I went to putting it together. Apologizes if I’ve already blogged this and am suffering amnesia.

I found this lovely Zimmermann dress in Melbourne while on holidays and was surprised at the time something strapless actually stayed up on me for once. The cut of the dress is very flattering on the female figure too; possibly something to do with the nicely cinched waisted and sweetheart neckline.

20120426-131149.jpg

I did have a fair amount of trouble finding things to go with it. At first I tried contrasting it against block colours to no success. My turquoise necklace looked great but it wasn’t quite the look I was going for. I tried on purple, black, everything. Eventually a friend suggested a rather obvious choice I hadn’t thought of: gold and diamanté costume jewellery. While looking for something of this description, however, I found a lovely gold and shell leaf necklace that matched perfectly, along with some great gold and shell bangles to match all from Lovisa.

20120426-131111.jpg

I paired the dress and jewellery with my white and gold YSL arty ring, some Betts Dorothy glitter pumps (which apparently come up more silver than gold in pictures), and a nice white and gold beaded clutch from Forever New. I really love how it all turned out. Not something I usually wear but perfect for a summer cocktail birthday party.

Recently I’ve been playing with different outfits revolving around the dress; hopefully I can fond plenty more to style it with. Definitely a great buy!

20120426-131250.jpg

P.s. My brother just so happens to own the room with the full length mirror in it and happened to have tyres sitting in there on the weekend. Related: I feel like they make me look even shorter! Oh dear.

Leave a Reply

