An online shopping dilemma

20120426-111402.jpg

I’ve had this strange obsession with this gorgeous Faded Daisy Dress from Life With Bird ever since it hit the online store. I adore the cut of this dress and love the print, until I saw a close up of it that is. As much as I love this dress, I can’t get past the fact the leopard print isn’t just your good old black and white.

20120426-111428.jpg

I’m not a huge print girl, and while I adore this dress I don’t think I’m quite brave enough to risk buying it (I’m nowhere near a LWB store or stockist to try it on, so I’d be buying blind over the net). I guess for myself, even though I buy online regularly, I tend to stick to things that I can work out how they’ll sit on me, or prints and cuts I know I’ve liked in the past.

Below are two classic examples of things I would buy because I know how they will sit on me and that I’ll actually wear the print (or colour, in this case) because they will suit me. LWB’s hypnotist top and s/s shirt dress.

<br /
20120426-111547.jpg

20120426-111651.jpg

For example, I would probably never buy a strapless dress online because I have a hard time holding them up (I’ve only ever bought 3 in my life). Funnily enough, my 21st birthday dress was a gorgeous strapless Zimmermann number I never expected to love or be able to hold up (in fact it’s the only one of three that fits properly and that I genuinely adore) — I’d seen it online but it wasn’t till I saw it on myself that I realized how lovely it was.

My advice, take a risk when buying online every now and then, but try on lots of different shapes and prints in your local store so you get an idea of what does and doesn’t work on you. Also, never go online shopping without a tape measure that has both centimeters and inches on it!

Leave a Reply

