Melbourne Shopping

After a week in Melbourne I still feel like I’ve barely scratched the surface of the fashion the city has to offer. I love Melbourne immensely and it’s on my list of places I’d like to live in at some point. The weather is obviously a little crazy but the people are nice and the atmosphere is fantastic.

Melbourne Central is probably one of my favourite places. Mainly because I stay at the Mercure Welcome Hotel while I’m down there and the hotel is on the Bourke St Mall and very close to Melb Central. The shops inside the centre are great; a nice mixture between High St fashion and designer pieces. I bought a couple of lovely pieces there such as this easy-to-wear and versatile dress from Country Road. It’s actually a top, however when you’re a petite 157 centimeters tall it’s easy to blur the line between top and dress. 20120109-003941.jpg
I wore the dress for the first time on Saturday and received many compliments on it. Such a Rosie dress and such a great buy for $100!
20120109-004105.jpg
I also bought this hot little ensemble from Kookai in Melbourne Central. A simple grey tank is an item all girls should have in their wardrobe to wear under things, on their own or in case you need to throw something on in a hurry. One can never have too many black skirts either – I find especially if you’re young, a girl needs a nicely cut bodycon black skirt for wearing under baggy tops, with a fitted top for a sexier look and for all manner of other uses.
20120109-004926.jpg
Now I haven’t bought the above jacket, however I’m seriously considering ringing David Jones and phone ordering it. A bit exxy but this Camilla and Marc jacket is the first black jacket I’ve liked on me.
20120109-005101.jpg
Above is the Zimmermann dress I bought at the Zimmermann boutique in QV. Of all the sales assistants in Melbourne, I think these girls were the best. Genuinely happy and nice, they didn’t even bat an eyelid when I kept asking for sizes and colours. Needless to say I was more than happy to purchase this dress there on sale (unfortunately it was reduced again later in the week, oh well). I plan on buying the purple equivalent of the necklace in the pic from Diva and maybe wearing it to my 21st birthday bash. Such a gorgeous dress and I don’t normally wear strapless either. Some self-fashion rules are made to be broken.
20120109-005508.jpg
Zara was a very interesting trip. A rather messy store and the locals seem to have pillaged all the good stuff, however, I did still find a great pair of black studded, pointy toe heels. After a trip to David Jones I discovered they’re kind of a knock off of Christian Louboutin heels, only way cheaper while still looking good.

20120109-010522.jpg
Speaking of shoes, I feel in love with a pair of Tony Bianco Devon black diesel/black wax boots. I picked them up in Santini thinking “oh wow, these are amazing”, only to look inside and discover they’re by my favourite shoe brand. I purchased them online due to no stores having a 5.5 and by buying through TB themselves I got a $30 discount using loyalty points and my Gold VIP card discount of 10%. So comfortable and such a bargain. Just like the $10 pair of loafers I got from Rubi Shoes. Decent quality for the price I paid too.

20120109-010600.jpg
Also on my purchases list, Nicholas shorts from Green With Envy Richmond and a Sass & Bide top from Chadstone (another 21st outfit option).

20120109-010750.jpg

20120109-010820.jpg
Also Mum bought me two bracelets from Dinosaur Designs, the funkiest jewelry shop I’ve seen in a while. Both are great colours and I love that one looks like a lolly snake.

20120109-011135.jpg
I also found myself a lovely purple clutch from New Republic. Apparently the owner is linked to wholesale for Country Road. $100 for this leather baby.

20120109-011303.jpg
Expect a post about Sydney soon as well as a new favourite outfit of mine I debuted in Melbourne! Happy 2012 all!

Leave a Reply

