The endless fashion cycle

I’m no longer sure whether humans are capable of not wanting anything. Our whole lives seem to be made up of it. I for one am definitely subject to continually wanting things. More specifically: fashion. Working around all gorgeous labels as I do, I always seem to have a wish list going.

The other day this lovely dress Japanese woman came into work. She was wearing a cream and black striped Lisa Ho dress (I would tell you the name but I can’t remember it) with little black brogue shoes and this ever so lovely Country Road messenger bag. Ever since then I’ve been thinking, “I NEED/WANT a messenger bag”, and the Proenza Schouler PS1 Medium leather satchel I’ve pictured is the current one I’ve been obsessing over. Out of my price range but I will be searching for a style very similar to the Proenza Schouler one.

Every time I feel like I’ve stopped wanting something, something else comes along. There are just too many cute clothes items on the market these days! Lately I’ve indulged in a few pieces and I’ve included photos for some of them. Starting with the most recent; I finally own True Religion Brand Jeans denim! A very sweet pair of white denim shorts. I got them for half price at The Sale Shop in Townsville and while they’re half a size too big, I already love them. They’re still selling on the True Religion site, however, if you can find them locally, they’re probably a better price.

True Religion Joey Classic Cut Off Short

Next up is a gorgeous necklace from another local store in Townsville’s mall. At Milou Dress House I found a turquoise cross on a leather chain for $19. Bargain, I say. With rosary beads a hot item on the market at the moment, this turquoise cross necklace is a nice alternative.

Milou Dress House Gabby Wears turquoise cross on a leather strap necklace

Princess Polly has now opened up in Townsville. Originally a Brisbane and Mackay based store as well as E-boutique, the store is located in the CBD on Denham Street. This week alone the store appeared to have been painted, fitted, filled with clothes and then opened to trade. If you’re in the area it’s worth checking out. There are some lovely pieces such as this Shape Shifter dress. Although, I preferred the black with little white flowers version they had in store.

Princess Polly Shape Shifter dress

I decided not to get the shape shifter dress simply because in a week or two I’ll be wearing my camilla and marc letter frock, which is amazing and therefore, I won’t need another a strapless maxi to wear just yet. The Princess Polly dress I did buy was the Veronica Dress in rose-pink. It’s very 80’s inspired and as much as I love the 80’s, I don’t think I’ll be wearing my black Tony Bianco punk/gladiator-esque stiletto’s with them just yet. Instead I’ll be pairing them with my lovely tanned Natasha platforms and my Louis Vuitton clutch.

Princess Polly Veronica Dress in Rose Pink

A few weeks ago I was at a friend’s 20th birthday, when I saw one of his friends dressed in black skinny jeans and an oversize/baggy grey tee with a big black sequined bow on it. Ever since then I’ve been on a hunt for a grey baggy tee with a black bow and have come up short. Then suddenly, Miss Ruby gets new Wildfox Couture in and voilĂ , the search is over. Needless to say I snapped it up straight away, as did everyone else who laid eyes on it within 2 days of it arriving in store. I plan on teaming this cutie with my JBrand pitch leggings and some black Tony Bianco heels for an understated sexy look.

Wildfox Couture Black Bow V Neck T in Diamond

Hopefully, I won’t be spending any more money in the near future, as I need to start saving so I can shop in Melbourne in January and Japan in June/July. Although, I will have my eye out for a nicely cut black jacket, similar to ones in the last season of Karen Walker and a simple black skirt that’s appropriate for all occasions.

Leave a Reply

